The 28th Annual Meeting of the Missouri Herpetological Association was held on 19 – 20 September 2015 at Reis Biological Station near Steelville, Crawford County, Missouri.

A total of 37 members, representing 11 organizations, attended the meeting. Thirteen (13) paper sessions were presented during the regular meeting. A brief business meeting followed the last regular presentation. Business meeting discussion topics included the date and location of the 2016 meeting. Abstracts from presentations will be published in the 2015 newsletter, which will be available this winter.

PDF Document Schedule

The MHA would like to thank Saint Louis University for generously hosting the 2015 meeting in this traditional and popular field station facility.

Group Photograph

Annual Meeting 2015 Group Photograph

Front row (seated): Brian Edmond (MSU), Ian Clifton (UCA), Rachel Sullivan (SIUE), Lisa Hebenstreit (SIUE), Candice Johnson (SIUE), Kelsey Anderson (MSU), Alexis King (SIUE), Stephanie Bishir (SEMO), Olivia Graves (MSU), Rick Essner (SIUE).
Second row (seated): Tim Clay (UALR), Matt Gifford (UCA), Bob Powell (AU), Leslie Brinkman (MSU), Kayla Shelton (MSU), Kari Spivey (MSU), Jesse Spivey (MSU), Brian Greene (MSU).
Third row (standing): Jon Davenport (SEMO), Hugh Quinn, Amber Anderson (UCA), Tom Anderson (UMC), Chris Robinson (UCA), Michael Frangello (SEMO), Dustin Garig (SEMO), Derek Filipeck (UCA), Dylan Maag (MSU), Nick Ledbetter (UCA), Ben Dalton (MSU), Josh Harmon (MSU), Travis Reeder (MSU), Sam Blecha (MSU), Jeff Kimmons (PU), Steven Snow (SFF), Glenn Manning (UAM), Richard Daniel (UMC), Jeff Briggler (MDC), Mike Jorgensen (UMC).
Key: AU=Avila University, MDC=Missouri Department of Conservation, MSU=Missouri State University, PU=Park University, SEMO=Southest Missouri State University, SFF=Snow Family Farm Herpetological Research Station, SIUE=Southern Illinois University at Edwardsville, UALR=University of Arkansas at Little Rock, UAM=University of Arkansas at Monticello, UCA=University of Central Arkansas, UMC=University of Missouri at Columbia.

Other Photographs

Original Announcement

Date and Location

The 28th annual meeting of the Missouri Herpetological Association will be held September 19 – 20, 2015 at Reis Biological Station near Steelville, Crawford County, Missouri.


Paper sessions will begin at 1 pm on Saturday afternoon. Members planning to present a paper should fill out and return the attached registration form to Jeff Briggler no later than Fri 11 Sep 2015.

After the paper sessions are concluded, we will have a potluck for the Saturday evening dinner. Please bring a hot dish, salad, chips, dessert, hot rolls, chicken wings, etc. Supply your own drinks and tableware for dinner.

Sunday morning will begin with the traditional breakfast in Steelville followed by a morning field excursion for the hale and hardy survivors.


Dormitory, sleeping cabins (3 or 4 persons per cabin) and tent camping sites are available. Bring pillow, sleeping bag or bedding.

Driving Directions

At Cuba, Missouri (on I-44) take MO 19 south to Steelville. Proceed through Steelville on the main road (combined MO 8 / MO 19). At the eastern edge of Steelville take MO 8 toward Potosi for 11 miles. (MO 19 turns south at this point).

After leaving Steelville you will cross Huzzah Creek (approximately 8.0 miles east of Steelville). Continue on Highway 8 up the long hill for 3.0 miles. At the top of the hill is a blue highway sign that reads “Roadside Park 1/2 mile”. The gravel road to the station is the first road to the right after the sign (about two blocks distance). Take the gravel road for approximately 1.5 miles to the station. You will know that you missed the entrance if you reach the roadside park on the left. If you do, turn around and go back to the first road.

More Information

The following documents contain more information.